Wednesday, 3 September 2014

Announcing the 2014 ASTA Science teachers in Japan delegation!

On Saturday 27th September, ASTA President Robyn Aitken, CEO Vic Dobos, and four primary and secondary teacher delegates will leave Australia, bound for Tokyo, Japan. In the week that follows this enthusiastic team of educators will dive into a sea of new experiences, in an effort to strengthen cross-cultural bonds and expand the boundaries of their science and teaching skills and experience.

The ASTA-Japan exchange has run, in various forms, for several years. This year the program is being generously supported by a grant from the Australia-Japan Foundation (AJF), which gave ASTA the opportunity to cover the bulk of the travel and accommodation costs for the successful applicants. One of the main objectives of the AJF is to "increase understanding in Japan of shared interests with Australia" and it is fantastic that education is recognised as one of those shared interests.

The four teacher delegates, selected through an application process, are: 
  • Gary Tilley, Seaforth Primary School, NSW
  • Leah Taylor, St Anthony's Parish Primary School, ACT
  • Danielle Spencer, Mitchelton State Primary School, QLD
  • Sarah Chapman, Townsville State High School, QLD
As well as visiting some of Japan's iconic scientific and cultural icons, including the National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation (MIRAKAN), the National Museum of Nature and Science and Sky Tower, delegates will have the opportunity to observe Japanese primary and secondary science classes (including a Super Science School) and lead classes of their own as a guest teacher.

You can follow the adventure on this blog, as well as through the ASTA Facebook page ( and Twitter (#ASTAJapan14).

1 comment:

  1. Congratulations to all. Have a wonderful trip. I am sure you will have a great time.